Student-Athlete Advisory Committee

Youngstown State University Intercollegiate Athletics Department believes the student-athlete experience is essential to its mission. In order to assist in accomplishing this mission, the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) is available to all student-athletes.

2018-19 YSU SAAC

Mission Statement

The mission of the Youngstown State University's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee is:

  • To promote efficient communication between the Athletic Administration and the student-athlete population regarding areas that impact the student's athletic, academic, and personal well-being; and
  • To actively encourage more involvement of student-athletes in campus and community projects; and
  • To encourage unity, common purpose and camaraderie between teams and among all athletes in the athletic program; and
  • To establish a relationship with student government.

SAAC Officers (2018-19)

Alan Burns

Nicolette Kreatsoulas
Vice President

Danielle Dadig
Community Outreach Co-Coordinator

Alison Green
Community Outreach Co-Coordinator

Jake Wilson
Facilities Coordinator

Brock Wooten
Social Media Coordinator

Shelby Marken
YESPYs Event Coordinator

SAAC Leadership Award Winners

Since 1999, the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee has selected a SAAC Leadership Award Winner. Criteria for the selection of the award winner include searching for opportunities to lead; enlisting others in a common vision; setting the example; recognizing individual contributions; celebrating team accomplishments; seeing an uplifting future and fostering collaboration. The award is voted on by the SAAC.

Year Male Leadership Award Female Leadership Award Horizon League Outreach Award
2018-19 Alan Burns (Track & Field/XC) Shelby Marken (Track & Field) Softball
2017-18 Alan Burns (Track & Field/XC) Alexis Roach (Softball) Baseball
2016-17 Alan Burns (Track & Field/XC) Mia Barchetti (Golf) Softball
2015-16 Jon Hutnyan (Track & Field/XC) Miranda Castiglione (Softball) Softball
2014-15 Jon Hutnyan (Track and Field/XC) Marta Burak (Tennis) Softball
2013-14 Eric Rupe (Track and Field/XC) Liz Hornberger (Basketball) Softball
2012-13 Torrian Pace (Football) Brandi Brown (Basketball) Softball
2011-12 Kurt Hess (Football) Macey Nortey (Basketball) Softball
2010-11 Spenser Sulzener (Golf) Breanne Romeo (Track and Field) Swimming & Diving
2009-10 Stephen Blose (Football) Jennifer Johnstone (Swimming) Softball
2008-09 Mychal Savage (Football) Kelsey Gurganus (Basketball) Women's Basketball
2007-08 James Terry (Football) Michelle Fuleky (Tennis) Track & Field
2006-07 Jeremiah Wright (Football) Emily Wollet (Track and Field) Track & Field  
2005-06 Kyle Smith (Football) Tiffany Patteson (Softball) Track & Field  
2004-05 Josh Zarlenga (Golf) Erin Carter (Swimming) Women's Golf
2003-04 Adam Baumann (Basketball) Amber Smith (Softball) Swimming & Diving  
2002-03 Kurt Michaelis (Track and Field) Amber Smith (Softball) Swimming & Diving  
2001-02 P.J. Mays (Football) Melissa Lyczkowski (Volleyball) Women's Golf
2000-01 Denver Williams (Football) Dani Brown (Softball)  
1999-00 Anthony Rozzo (Football) Tamara Rudy (Volleyball)